Leadership & Governance

The YMCA of Metro North serves more than 60,000 individuals each year in a variety of programs focusing on Youth Development, Healthy Living, and Social Responsibility. These programs are administered by a talented and diverse staff team committed to putting the YMCA’s mission into action.

Association Support Team and Leadership

Kathleen Walsh, President and Chief Executive Officer
Paul Mantell, Vice President of Human Resources and Chief Administrative Officer
Lisa Ferraro, Chief Financial Officer
Laurie Kennedy, Vice President of Development
Sandy St. Louis, Vice President of Communications and Marketing
Jessica Murray, Association Aquatics Director
Jen Conway, Senior Finance Director
Molly Courson, Development Specialist
Anthony Ciampa, Digital and Creative Content Manager

Branch Leadership

Demakes Family YMCA: Andrea Baez, Senior Branch Executive Director
Melrose Family YMCA:
Katelyn Papadopoulos, Senior Branch Executive Director
Melrose YMCA Child Care Center: Karen Tringale, Child Center Director
Saugus Family YMCA and Gymnastics Center: Amy Looney, Branch Executive and Ricky Baez, Branch Director
Stoneham YMCA Child Care Center: Lauren Reed, Child Care Director
Torigian Family YMCA: Cara Green, Executive Director

As a nonprofit, the YMCA of Metro North is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors made up of community leaders. Our Board donates their time and talent to provide direction and guidance to our leadership team and helps to shape the organization’s strategic plan.

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Andrew Demakes, Old Neighborhood Foods, Chairperson
Dave Gravel, GraVoc Associates, Inc., Vice Chairperson
Chuck Holden, Holden Oil, Immediate Past Chairperson
Jerome Salerno, North Shore Bank, Treasurer


Charles Whipple, Hallmark Health
Jaclyn Kugell-Yezerski, Morgan, Brown & Joy, LLP

Dr. Dina Gentile, Endicott College
Jessica Glezellis, Reading Cooperative Bank
Jose Gonzalez, Eastern Bank
Dr. William Hieneman, North Shore Community College
Mauro Lance, Virtual, Inc.
Sean Reid, Office of Sen. Crighton
Joseph Mendonca, Adtech Systems
Josephina Romero, Commonwealth Corp
Carolina Trujillo, Citizen’s Inn
Steve Valenti, F.M. Valenti, Inc.